Home » Uncategorized » Journalism, should we stay or should we go?

Journalism, should we stay or should we go?

As a senior in college looking towards graduation in a few short weeks, I have a few decisions to make. How to study for all my exams is one, but the more pressing question is what and where will I be working once I walk across the stage. I have worked for a newspaper and done an internship. These sound like good things in theory that would get me a job, but I have a sinking feeling that it will take a lot more than that to get the job that I actually want. I have a friend from working on the campus newspaper who recently blogged about how she is leaving Journalism. She graduated last December, and immediately began working for a small local paper. I would see posts on Facebook from her periodically, and it sounded like she was loving her job…. at first. Then she posted last week about how just after a year, she was burned out from Journalism and was planning to leave the small paper for a large PR firm in Atlanta. Most of the people I have come in contact with in the Journalism department have worked for a newspaper at one point or another, and have said it is a great start to get your foot in the door. But now, I don’t know if I even want to start there. I may be getting a Journalism degree, but I am wondering whether it is even feasible to start out using it right away or if newspapers are even the right fit for me. I have big dreams that involve living in New York City and writing. But what am I going to have to do to get there is the biggest question right now. I love Journalism, and I love writing, but it may be awhile til I can make money at it.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

officialncyagmedia

Social Media for NC YAG 2013

officialncyagmedia

Social Media for NC YAG 2013

