Home » Uncategorized » A journalist’s perspective of a journalist’s perspective of the breaking news out of Boston

A journalist’s perspective of a journalist’s perspective of the breaking news out of Boston

It is currently 2:51am as I type this and I have been following the breaking news that started out as a police officer being shot at MIT near Boston, since it happened around midnight.

What began as a single shooting has now broken into a search involving both state police and the FBI due to the perpetrators supposedly being the two men being accused of the Boston Marathon bombings on Monday.

As a student journalist, I have NEVER seen anything like this play out on social media. I was alerted to this situation via Twitter, and was soon led to subscribe to this list. Because my roommate is sound asleep, I chose not to turn on the tv, but I really do not need to because this list is probably better than any tv report I could get. That is because it is not made up of just anyone, but over 20 journalists that are on the scene right now, and live updating it.

Somehow, many of them are actually writing their articles  on their phone and immediately sending it to their editors, such as this one, while also live tweeting the play-by-plays. Never have I seen such a dedicated group of journalists act on the job, and have it all available for us.

I don’t know how much sleep I am going to get tonight because as a journalist, I can’t shut my eyes until this is entirely played out. Even if I am a walking zombie tomorrow (or today depending on how you look at this), I will now that it was because of dedicated journalists that I was entirely informed.

1 Comment

  1. clhall says:

    Entries for April 2013 (Weeks 12-15): 6 out of the required 8.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

officialncyagmedia

Social Media for NC YAG 2013

officialncyagmedia

Social Media for NC YAG 2013

