Home » Uncategorized » Journalism is more than just writing, it is knowing people’s story

Journalism is more than just writing, it is knowing people’s story

There is not just one thing that drew me to Journalism. If I had to pinpoint it though, I believe it was a combination of the thrill of writing, and telling people’s stories. I was one of those kids who was put to bed at night with books and stories. My dad, being the storyteller in the family, told the craziest stories I have ever heard. Even when I was four or five, we said that we would put those stories in a book at some point. This idea, that I could write my own stories, amazed me as a child and I kept that idea with me as I grew up.

There is nothing better than connecting with a source. As Journalists, we are expected to be professional when we talk to sources, but I cannot count the number of times that I have connected with the people that I have talked to. I cannot pretend that I have had my fair share of unpleasant sources, but for the most part I have been lucky with the people that I have interviewed.

In my opinion, Journalism gets a bad reputation with people because journalists do not take the time to actually listen to their sources. Some look for a certain piece of information when they interview people, and they throw everything else out. I have found that if you take the time to actually hear what a source has to say and do not misconstrue it, your sources will be more than willing to talk to you later.

What I enjoy writing is more on the soft journalism side, therefore, my stories mainly deal with people’s experiences or events. This allows me to be more relaxed with them and vice versa. There have been so many amazing people that I have had the chance to talk to because I am a journalist. The thing is though, there are so many amazing people out there who’s stories are never told. As journalists it is not only our job to report the news, but to go out and find them. This is precisely why we need to be as perceptive as possible, otherwise, we will miss a story that is right under our noses.

Leave a Reply

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

officialncyagmedia

Social Media for NC YAG 2013

officialncyagmedia

Social Media for NC YAG 2013

